The Age Of Eternal Youth

Are you a grown up?  I don’t mean an adult, which is only a legal number, I mean a proper head-on-straight, capable grown up.

I’m not.

Please don’t misunderstand me, if there is an emergency then I deal with it (and cry into a large drink afterwards).  But as I’m there, putting out the flames, I’m busy thinking “I’m too young for this!”.  At 28 I suspect that isn’t strictly true but that is what my subconscious brain keeps screaming.  How can I be a grown up?  I still panic at the thought of bad hair, I still have to ask mum/google how to defrost a freezer. Those are not signs of maturity.  And it is everywhere around me.

I won’t pretend that I am the first to have noticed this.  You will have seen reports about the growing number of comic-con attendees, heard about the Bronies, noticed the silly t-shirts being warn.  The term man-child came into being recently (stolen from The Jungle Book) to explain this embracing of a second youth.

It may be something to do with society.  In developing countries where your time is spent fetching water and trying to grow crops in arid conditions you don’t really have time to think about if the new version of Thundercats is as good as the old, even if you were able to watch them.  You don’t have the energy to waste.  But I would imagine that the people there still, in their moments of thought, wonder what they did to deserve this and how the hell they are going to manage.  They may not think they are too young, though sadly they often are (although can anyone really be old enough?) But the feeling of not coping will likely still be there, even if the means to put it aside aren’t.

That, I think, is what it comes down to.  We are in a world that we feel we can’t change.  You look around and you see poverty, you see yourself stuck in a job you hate, you see elderly uncared for, the NHS falling to pieces.  You see so much and you know that any protest you make will be ignored.  So we go back in ourselves to a happier time, to childhood, and the cares there.  The interests may have moved on, alongside cartoons and comics there are action films and computer games but it is still immersing yourself in a world that you don’t need to influence.  It is a more innocent world that you don’t need to worry about because it will take care of itself.

So when you come out of it you panic at dealing.  You wonder just how you will cope.  But you do of course. 

One more sour note with this – I’m afraid it isn’t something you grow out of.  I feel I’m too young, my mum wonders “why her?”.  The only reason my gran doesn’t is she has children and grandchildren quite happy to tell her what she should be doing!

This was meant to be a light hearted entry but it evolved.  Sorry about that.  However to sooth you after this I suggest you watch Old Jack’s Boat on CBeebie or the iPlayer.  It’s aimed at 3-5 year olds.  Enjoy!

One thought on “The Age Of Eternal Youth

  1. Well-reasoned. Probably the same sort of escapism in my endless games of Freecell and Bejewelled – a mindless monotony to stop me thinking about the reality of life. But Old Jack does it too, without the monotony!
    Seriously, though, think of the people you know who have apparently grown up – aren’t they a boring lot? I don’t mean those who do their jobs responsibly, who are often as daft as us outside their working lives, but the jobsworths who think that they alone are capable of keeping the world in running order and never relax enough to crack a smile or appreciate a bit of healthy silliness. I ought to feel sorry for them, but usually I just get cross.
    Remember the old adage: “Inside every old person there’s a young person wondering what happened.” And most of them are a lot older than you!

Leave a Reply

